Sally Christie

on  Tour

August 31 – September 9

with

sisters of versailles

The Sisters of Versailles

(historical fiction)

 Release date: September 1, 2015
at Atria Book/Simon & Schuster

432  pages

ISBN: 978-1501102967

Website | Goodreads

Eiffel Tower OrangeEiffel Tower OrangeEiffel Tower Orange

SYNOPSIS

A sumptuous and sensual tale of power, romance, family, and betrayal centered around four sisters and one King. Carefully researched and ornately detailed, The Sisters of Versailles is the first book in an exciting new historical fiction trilogy about King Louis XV, France’s most “well-beloved” monarch, and the women who shared his heart and his bed.
Set against the lavish backdrop of the French Court in the early years of the 18th century, The Sisters of Versailles is the extraordinary tale of the five Nesle sisters—Louise, Pauline, Diane, Hortense, and Marie-Anne—four of whom became mistresses to King Louis XV. Their scandalous story is stranger than fiction but true in every shocking, amusing, and heartbreaking detail.
Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best feet—and women—forward. The King’s scheming ministers push Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, she and her sisters—ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne—will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power.
The Sisters of Versailles is a treat through and through – the characters are witty and engaging and come together to create an undeniable page-turner. Sally Christie has a wonderful sense of pace and the book unfolds in front of you like a delicious gift. Even as the scandals pile up and the intrigue mounts, you can’t help but fall in love with these sisters and their competing infatuations with the King.
In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie’s stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood—of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.   [provided by the publisher]

Eiffel Tower OrangeEiffel Tower OrangeEiffel Tower Orange

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sisters of Versailles - Sally Christie 

Sally Christie was born in England of British parents
and grew up around the world,
attending eight schools in three languages.
She spent most of her career working in international development
and is currently settled in Toronto.
A life-long history buff who wishes time travel were a real possibility
—she’d be off to the eighteenth century in a flash!
The Sisters of Versailles is her first novel.

Learn more about the sisters and the mistresses in the Versailles trilogy on her website
Become a fan to hear about her next novels!

Check her Pinterest page

Follow Simon & Schuster on Twitter and Facebook

Buy the book | on Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble
Books-a-Million  | IndieBound

Eiffel Tower OrangeEiffel Tower OrangeEiffel Tower Orange

TOUR QUOTATIONS

The Reading Queen

The Sisters of Versailles is a royal must read! Truly and ever so wildly entertaining with courtly intrigue, served with more than generous helpings of juicy gossip and scandal, it is a wonder why these sisters haven’t received much more attention that they assuredly deserve. It is noted that they have never been written about before in English, which is insanely hard to believe.
Being completely fascinated from beginning to end with The Sisters of Versailles, I cannot wait for what Sally Christie has next up her sleeve with such a strong start to what will be a not-to-be-missed trilogy!

I Am, Indeed

The first in a new trilogy focused on the 18th Century French Court of Louis XV… is detailed with lush imagery, treachery fitting the most twisted thriller, the opulence and over the top splendor of Versailles all in a story that explores the effects of power, betrayal, competition and family in a story that brings history to life.
The historical research in this novel is impeccable, descriptions are lush and evocative.
A wonderful read, I can’t wait for the next.

Words And Peace

Extremely engaging debut on eighteenth century French court. A king plus four sisters: a recipe for intrigues masterfully presented for the first time in English. A must for all historical fiction lovers.

With Her Nose Stuck In A Book

I had never heard of Louise, Pauline, Hortense, Marie-Anne and Diane Nesle. I can’t imagine a better introduction than the one that Ms. Christie has brought here.
The writing was sumptuous and rich…I really couldn’t get enough of it.

Griperang’s Bookmarks

The author did a good job with her writing and made a real story come to life on the pages for me.
This was a good start to a new series and I am looking forward to book 2.

Svetlana’s Reads and Views

I really enjoyed reading the book and getting to know the awesome characters of the five sisters, the King and various family members.
Be prepared to be shocked, educated, disgusted and saddened as we see the French Court of Ancient Regime through the eyes of the five Mailly-Nesle sisters.

An Accidental Blog

The novel definitely kept me reading and I’d recommend it to anyone who enjoys France or historical novels.

#redhead.with.book

The story is narrated by each of the sisters so we get a glimpse into their individual personalities through the letters written to each other. What I enjoyed about the story is the unpredictability of their actions at Versailles, despite being privy to their innermost thoughts throughout the storyline.
Despite its 417 pages, I consider Christie’s book to be a pleasant, light read.

 It’s a Mad Mad World

I felt that Sally Christie really captured both the time and the characters truly well.It was a good book, I enjoyed reading it.

Book Nerd

I was hooked from the first page. Loved learning about the French court and especially these Five sisters were captivating and I was interested to learn about them.
I’m hooked and I cannot wait to read more!

Eiffel Tower OrangeEiffel Tower OrangeEiffel Tower Orange

CLICK ON THE BANNER TO READ THE FULL REVIEWS,
AN EXCERPT AND A GUEST-POST BY THE AUTHOR

Sisters of Versailles banner

 

sisters poster

Advertisements