Mademoiselle Chanel banner

Author C.W. Gortner

on Tour

March 20-April 8, 2015

with

Mademoiselle Chanel

Mademoiselle Chanel

(historical fiction)

Release date: March 17, 2015
at William-Morrow/HarperCollins

384 pages

ISBN: 978-0062356406

***

SYNOPSIS

For readers of “The Paris Wife” and “Z” comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and became one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to an orphanage after their mother’s death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle’s exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.

Transforming herself into Coco—a seamstress and sometime torch singer—the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.

Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco’s reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.

An enthralling novel of an extraordinary designer who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark. (provided by the author)

***

ADVANCE PRAISE

“Deliciously satisfying . . . The epic, rags-to-riches story of how this brilliant woman became a legend.”— Christina Baker Kline, NYT bestselling author of Orphan Train

“Richly imagined and deftly researched . . . unfolds with the elegance of a Chanel gown.” —Cathy Marie Buchanan, NYT bestselling author of The Painted Girls

“So electric and luminous . . . Divine!” – Erika Robuck, national bestselling author of Hemingway’s Girl

 ***

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

CW GortnerC.W. Gortner is the international bestselling author of six historical novels,
translated in over twenty-five languages to date.
His new novel, “Mademoiselle Chanel”,
traces the tumultuous rise to fame of iconic fashion designer,
Coco Chanel.
In 2016, Random House will publish his eighth novel, “Vatican Princess”,
about Lucrezia Borgia.
Raised in Spain and a long-time resident of the Bay Area,
C.W. is also dedicated to companion animal rescue from overcrowded shelters.

Visit his website. Follow him on Facebook, Twitter

Subscribe to his newsletter

Buy the book: HarperCollins  |  IndieBound  Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble

***

VIRTUAL BOOK TOUR SCHEDULE

Friday, March 20
Review +  Giveaway at View from the Birdhouse

Saturday, March 21
Review +  Giveaway at The Book Binder’s Daughter

Sunday, March 22
Review + Excerpt at With Her Nose Stuck in a Book

Monday, March 23
Review + Giveaway at The Maiden’s Court

Tuesday, March 24
Review + Guest-Post at Jorie Loves A Story

Wednesday, March 25
Review + Interview + Giveaway at Griperang’s Bookmarks

Thursday, March 26
Review + Giveaway at Writing the Renaissance

Friday, March 27
Review + Giveaway at Mina’s Bookshelf

Saturday, March 28
Review +  Giveaway at For the Hook of a Book

Sunday, March 29
Review + Giveaway at Seize The Moment

Monday, March 30
Spotlight  + Giveaway at Queen of All She Reads

Tuesday, March 31
Review + Giveaway at Musings of a Writer & Unabashed Francophile

Wednesday, April 1
Review + Excerpt +  Giveaway at Book Nerd

Thursday, April 2
Review  at Unabridged Chick
Review + Giveaway at I Wish I Lived In a Library

Friday, April 3
Review + Giveaway at Macarons & Paperbacks

Sunday, April 5
Review at Crystal Book Reviews
Review + Giveaway at Let Them Read Books

Monday, April 6
Review + Giveaway at Vvb32 Reads
Review + Giveaway at Chocolate & Croissants

Wednesday, April 8
Review +  Giveaway at Impressions In Ink
Review +  Giveaway at I’m Lost in Books
Review + Giveaway at Words And Peace

*

You can enter the giveaway here or on the book blogs participating in this tour.
Be sure to follow each participant on Twitter/Facebook,
they are listed in the entry form below
.

Entry-Form

Visit each blogger on the tour:
tweeting about the giveaway everyday
of the Tour will give you 5 extra entries each time!
[just follow the directions on the entry-form]

6 winners
Open to US only:
5 printed copies
+ 1 beautiful, handcrafted beaded bracelet
inspired by Coco’s black-and-white signature colors
and camellia design

Mademoiselle Chanel bracelet

Advertisements