Posts tagged ‘C.W.Gortner’

March 2015 Books of the month giveaway winners

We have winners!

March giveaway winnersDenise

won

Rodin's Lover cover

and

Martha

won

Mademoiselle Chanel

AND THE BOOK BLOGGER OF THE MONTH

is

VERONICA

 at

Libri Amori Miei

Please click on the banner to visit her blog

Libri Amori Miei

*

Don’t forget to enter the
April Books of the Month giveaway

Reminder:
as we have now a very nice incentive for book bloggers,
signing up for book reviews no longer gives you automatic entries into the monthly giveaway,
you need to enter the giveaway by yourself if you want to win any of these books.
One of the winner of the incentive programs
will be featured as the book blogger of the month

 
Advertisement

Mademoiselle Chanel: release day today

Mademoiselle Chanel banner

Today is the official

release day of

 

Mademoiselle Chanel

Mademoiselle Chanel

(historical fiction)

Release date: March 17, 2015
at William-Morrow/HarperCollins

384 pages

ISBN: 978-0062356406

***

SYNOPSIS

For readers of “The Paris Wife” and “Z” comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and became one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to an orphanage after their mother’s death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle’s exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.

Transforming herself into Coco—a seamstress and sometime torch singer—the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.

Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco’s reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.

An enthralling novel of an extraordinary designer who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark. (provided by the author)

***

ADVANCE PRAISE

“Deliciously satisfying . . . The epic, rags-to-riches story of how this brilliant woman became a legend.”— Christina Baker Kline, NYT bestselling author of Orphan Train

“Richly imagined and deftly researched . . . unfolds with the elegance of a Chanel gown.” —Cathy Marie Buchanan, NYT bestselling author of The Painted Girls

“So electric and luminous . . . Divine!” – Erika Robuck, national bestselling author of Hemingway’s Girl

 ***

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

CW GortnerC.W. Gortner is the international bestselling author of six historical novels,
translated in over twenty-five languages to date.
His new novel, “Mademoiselle Chanel”,
traces the tumultuous rise to fame of iconic fashion designer,
Coco Chanel.
In 2016, Random House will publish his eighth novel, “Vatican Princess”,
about Lucrezia Borgia.
Raised in Spain and a long-time resident of the Bay Area,
C.W. is also dedicated to companion animal rescue from overcrowded shelters.

Visit his website. Follow him on Facebook, Twitter

Subscribe to his newsletter

Buy the book: HarperCollins  |  IndieBound  Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble

***

BE SURE TO COME BACK
ON MARCH 20
FOR A STUNNING BOOK TOUR !

March 2015 Books of the month giveaway

We have this month 2 books
on amazing women
as giveaways!

Click on the book covers
to know more about each

     Rodin's Lover cover Mademoiselle Chanel

Click on the entry-form to enter the giveaway

Entry-Form

 Giveaway Tools will draw 2 winners on April 1st

Good luck!

WHAT WAS THE LAST HISTORICAL NOVEL YOU READ?